2022 Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach

2022 Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach
April 8-10, 2022

Josef Newgarden, driving the Team Penske Chevrolet, won his second consecutive race of the 2022 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season, leading 38 laps and leading Roman Grosjean to the checkered flag by 1.28 seconds.

Defending NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Alex Palou finished third.

Newgarden won the previous race at Texas, and the win at Long Beach was his first, and the 21st of his career. He was the runner-up at Long Beach in the past two consecutive seasons.

“It’s taken me 11 years to win a race here, so I’m so happy,” Newgarden said in Victory Circle. “I’m so proud of the efforts of the guys at Team Penske.”

Will Power finished 4th, with Pato O’Ward, Scott Dixon, Graham Rahal, Alexander Rossi, Helio Castroneves and rookie Kyle Kirkwood rounding out the top ten.

Polesitter and fan favorite Colton Herta, the defending Long Beach champion, led a total of 28 laps before hitting the Turn 8 wall with just 29 laps to go in the race.

Photos by Jose Ortiz

Jose's Gallery

Latest articles

Previous article
Next article

Related articles